An Introduction to Ayurveda – The Ancient Indian Science of Life

Date: July 4, 2023 | Shweta Shettigar

Image Source: Freepik

One of the most well-known ancient medical sciences that have persisted and thrived for decades is Ayurveda. The various branches of ancient Ayurveda have benefited mankind and will continue to thrive for a very long time. Ayurveda is also known as the “Mother of All Healing”. Ayurveda has its origins in the ancient Vedic culture and has been passed down orally from renowned masters to their followers for many generations. In this blog, let us explore the history and benefits of Ayurveda in your lifestyle. We will also learn about the types, branches, and doshas of Ayurveda. Keep on reading to know more!

What is Ayurveda

Ayurveda The Science Of Life, originates from the Sanskrit roots of “Ayur,” meaning “life,” and “Veda,” meaning “knowledge.” Our complete life, including the body, mind, and spirit, is covered in this ancient Vedic text. 

Let’s check out in detail the origins and history of Ayurveda.

Origins Of Ayurveda

Ayurveda is believed to have originated between 2500 to 500 BC. (1

Do you know who invented Ayurveda?

Charak is known as the Father of Ayurveda. His famous works are captured in the ancient text, Charaka Samhita.The Charaka Samhita offers a thorough discussion of numerous medical topics, such as aetiology, diagnosis and treatments of various kinds. A wide range of subjects are covered in Charak Samhita, including anatomy, physiology, herbal medicine, surgical methods, and the use of minerals and metals in Ayurvedic medicine. Poems called “Shlokas” were used to convey information about the medicinal properties of the herbs.

Doshas Of Ayurveda

The five elements of the universe — Aakash (space), Jal (water), Prithvi (earth), Agni (fire), and Vayu (air) — are the foundation of Ayurveda. 

Vata, kapha, and pitta are the three doshas of Ayurveda, that come from the interaction of each element. Every individual is considered to have a particular ratio of each dosha, with typically one dominating the others. Let’s look into each of these Doshas of Ayurveda individually:

Vata Dosha

Vata  is connected with air and space and has characteristics like bright, chilly, and dry. Vata Ayurveda Dosha controls how our bodies and minds move and function, exhibiting activities like breathing, the neurological system, joint movements, blood flow, waste disposal, and thought process.

Kapha Dosha

This Ayurveda Dosha is linked to earth and water. The characteristics of the Kapha dosha include slow, damp, chilly, heavy, smooth, and oily. In addition, Kapha dosha represents structure, stability, and lubrication in the body and psyche.

Pitta Dosha

Fire and water are the foundation of the Pitta Dosha. This dosha’s characteristics include hot, light, sharp, fluid, greasy, and movable. As per ancient Ayurveda, it has an impact on metabolism, skin tone, body temperature, and the gastrointestinal tract.

Image Source: Freepik

Different Branches Of Ayurveda

There are total 8 branches of Ayurveda, let’s learn about them in detail:

1. Kaaya Chikitsa

The word “Kaya” is an acronym for “Agni,” the internal fire that is in charge of digestion. The digestive fire is thought to be equally as essential to survival as the body, as it regulates how the body uses its energy.

2. Baala Chikitsa

Unlike adults, infants and children are unable to communicate their health problems. Their medicines and treatments are different from those of adults. Because of these distinctions, Kumarbhritya or Baala Chikitsa emerged within the realm of Ayurvedic sciences.

3. Graha Chikitsa

The branch deals with ailments and psychological issues of mankind. This branch of Ayurveda discusses herbs, how they may be used to clean things up, and how they can make an environment more uplifting.

4. Urdhvaanga Chikitsa

Through holistic therapies, cleanses, and herbal preparations, the Urdhvaanga Chikitsa addresses ailments and imbalances in body parts above the shoulders.

5. Shalya Chikitsa

A branch of Ayurvedic medicine known as Shalya Chikitsa deals with disorders that call for surgical treatment. This area of Ayurveda focuses on the surgical treatment of a variety of ailments, such as wounds, fractures, tumours, and abscesses.

6. Damstra Chikitsa

The branch deals with the detection and management of poisons in the body. It has a timeline attached to it. When there was more wilderness around the locations where humans lived before civilization, general bites and attacks by animals, birds, insects, or worms were common.

7. Jara Chikitsa

This branch of Ayurveda concentrates on ageing and other related issues. It discusses preventive healthcare, treatments, and herbal medicines (rasayana) in order to enhance the quality of life and lead a healthy life full of vigour and vitality.

8. Vrsha Chikitsa

This branch of Ayurveda also known as Aphrodisiac therapy focuses on increasing fertility and promoting both men’s and women’s sexual health. It focuses on the condition and diseases of the genetic or reproductive organs.

Image Source: Freepik

Benefits Of Ayurveda In Life

Here are some of the benefits of adopting Ayurveda in Life:

  1. Having flawless skin and lustrous hair is possible with regular use of Ayurvedic ingredients like Kumkumadi Oil or Virgin Coconut Oil. Free from chemicals, Ayurvedic skincare products benefit your hair and skin to a great extent.
  2. Human digestive system gets better when you maintain your diet in accordance with your dosha type. Toxins in the blood and digestive system are decreased with the correct dietary timing.
  3. Ayurvedic products help in wound healing naturally, without any side effects.
  4. Adopting Ayurveda in life, also reduces your stress levels. Ayurvedic hair oils  are soothing and relaxing when used for head massage or body massage.
  5. The various beneficial and magical ingredients in Ayurveda are said to flush out toxins from the body.

Ayurveda is not just a science, it’s a way of life. Practised for ages, the benefits of Ayurveda are immense. If you too want to make a move towards leading a healthy and balanced lifestyle, Ayurveda is your one-stop destination. Start by eating a balanced diet as per your doshas and make amendments to your skincare regime with authentic Ayurvedic skincare products from Sadhev.

You Might Like Reading:

How to use Rose Petals for Skin Benefits

Ancient Remedies You can Use to Prevent Dry Skin

Frequently Asked Questions On Ancient Ayurveda

1. What are the 5 pillars of Ayurveda?

The 5 pillars of Ayurveda are Rest, Movement, Food & Nutrition, Emotional Well-being and meditation.

2. Who in Ancient India invented Ayurveda?

In Indian mythology, it is believed that Ayurveda came from Lord Dhanvantari (God’s Physician) who received this gift from Lord Brahma. Charaka (150-200 CE) is considered the Father of Ayurveda, whose celebrated work is Charaka Samhita.

3. How can Ayurveda improve your life?

Ayurveda benefits our lives by creating a positive impact on our mind, well-being, skin and hair and even emotions.

4. Why are Ayurvedic products better for your skin and hair?

Ayurvedic products are free from harsh chemicals and are sourced organically, hence are safe for both hair and skin.

Your Cart